Dr Anne Astin AM PSM

Chair of the Board

BSc (Hons), PhD, GradDip Public Sector Mgt, FAIFST, MAICD

Chair of the Food Agility Board, Dr Anne Astin is a distinguished food scientist and highly regarded administrator.

She has held executive positions in government, industry research and development, and advocacy organisations. She is the current Board Chair of Victoria’s Sir William Angliss Institute of Technical and Further Education (TAFE), the Victorian TAFE Association (VTA), and of Dairy Food Safety Victoria. She is Interim Chair of Agriculture Innovation Australia (AIA), and a Director of New Zealand’s Food Safety Science and Research Centre’s Advisory Board as well as holding several non-remunerated positions in the community service not-for-profit sector including Board Chair of Good Shepherd Australia New Zealand.

In 2020, Anne was awarded an AM in the Australia Day Honours for her services to Australia’s dairy industry and to food safety regulation. In 2011, she was awarded the Public Service Medal in the Victorian Division of the Queen’s Birthday Honours for her services to the dairy industry, national food regulation and rural women. In 2010, she was inducted into the Victorian Women’s Honour Roll for her work in biochemistry and as an advocate of women’s leadership. In 2010, she also received the Australian Dairy Industry Council’s Outstanding Service Award in recognition of her leadership and services to Australia’s dairy industry, and in 2016 was awarded the Dairy Industry Association of Australia’s John Bryant Gold Medal for outstanding service to the industry.

Anne was the inaugural CEO of Dairy Food Safety Victoria. She previously held executive positions in the public sector, working in food policy and regulation, public health, agriculture, minerals and petroleum, natural resources and environment, land administration and forensic science. Prior to this, Anne was a senior tutor and researcher at Monash University, working in biomedical research and education.

Her wealth of leadership experience includes; Previous President and Chair of the Australian Institute of Food Science and Technology (AIFST), Chair of the Australian and New Zealand Implementation Sub Committee for Food Regulation (ISFR), Chair of SafeFish, Director of Australian Dairy Farmers Ltd, Dairy Australia, and the Melbourne Royal Botanic Gardens.

Host University
Academic supervisor
Industry supervisor
Associated Project/Program